For Me…{Poem}

For Me

 Shadreya Benita Crudup

Lover, believer, faithful, strong and sensitive

At the end of the day it’s only me

I’ve always put everyone in front of me or above me

Trying to please everyone but me

Well that’s done

Stronger than what I was

Wiser than what I was

Living and growing

Trying to become all that I can be

But that no one can see

Dreya can you help me?

Dreya I need your advice

Dreya do you think I should?

Damn can I breathe?

As much as I want to be there

Help my friends and those around me

I have to focus on me

Progress in my goals

Follow my dreams

Follow my heart

There’s only one me

So I have to do me

If I don’t who will?

This is not for anyone to take offense

But I have to spread my wings

You know do my thing!

Not for you, them, him or she

But for me

2 comments

  1. earthslang · April 3, 2012

    I like this a lot; I’m really feeling you here. Good flow and an empowering message!

  2. dreya07 · April 3, 2012

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

